Close this search box.

improv comedy cagefight – grand final cup @ the factory theatre marrickville


IMPROV COMEDY CAGEFIGHT is Australia’s largest improvised comedy competition, every Monday night from 7.30pm at the Bank Hotel in Newtown, with hundreds of unique performers (competing in teams of two, or three or more) alive on stage.
Each week the audiences at The Improv Comedy Cagefight Competition will be voting to find the impressive top seven teams, who will fight it out at the high energy, grand final performance. At the grand final, each and every team has fourteen minutes to perform in any improvised comedy format of their choosing – heartfelt confessions, tawdry humour, of course including cheeky, quirky, plus wildly eccentric improvised theatre, OR comedy sketch OR “Theatresports”.

Team sizes range from two to eight people. Each team performs in only one semi final and non-winners are then eliminated. These are the improv comedy events for our time. Purely frivolous fun romp full of striking seductive storytelling. Highly Recommended.

IMPROV COMEDY CAGEFIGHT every Monday, at The Bank Hotel, located at 324 King Street, Newtown, NSW.

Every Monday from 7:30pm in Waywards at The Bank Hotel, multiple teams of comedians battle it out for improvised comedy glory AND the audience votes to decide the winner.

On Thursday 4th May 2023 the grand final event of IMPROV COMEDY CAGEFIGHT was at THE FACTORY THEATRE, starting at 7:30pm and finishing around 9.30pm, with the one interval of fifteen minutes.

Comedic duo of Ruby Blinkhorn and Kate Wilkins teamed up, to win the IMPROV COMEDY CAGEFIGHT CUP. The grand final winning team, and received $1,000 cash.

Grand Final Teams in order of appearance were –

(1) Friends, No Benefits (Tyler Dias, Annaliese Shaw, Jordy Russo, Georgie Daniels)
(2) Nick and Tom (Nick Harriott, Tom Waddell)
(3) Level Two (Tom Forsyth, Lachlan Welch, Thomas Howard, Alex Wylie)
(4) The Queen’s Ex-Boyfriends (Sam Bargwanna, Ryan Atkins, Jordan Gregory-Dunsmore, Brendan Atkins)


(5) Pure Comedy by Father John Misty (Kate Wilkins, Ruby Blinkhorn) WINNING TEAM
(6) Immediate Family (Daniel Nour, Jayce Carrano, Georgie Pender, Anna May)
(7) Dragon Zombies (Sam Reucassel, Hugh Finlayson, Charlie Papps)









Subscribe to our Bi-Weekly Newstetter

Sign up for our bi-weekly newsletter to receive updates and stay informed about art and cultural events around Sydney. – it’s free!

Want More?

Get exclusive access to free giveaways and double passes to cinema and theatre events across Sydney. 

Scroll to Top